2020 Manitoba Psychiatric Association Manitoba Psychiatrist of the Year – Dr. Mark Prober

The MPA is pleased to announce the selection of Dr. Mark Prober as the recipient of the 2020 Manitoba Psychiatric Association Manitoba Psychiatrist of the Year Award. 

Doctor Prober obtained his medical degree from the University of Manitoba in 1967 and completed his psychiatric training at the University of Cincinnati in 1974. He started with the University of Manitoba faculty of psychiatry in 1973 and has served the Department in a variety of capacities now for over 47 years. Doctor Prober was a driving force in creating the student mental health program for the University of Manitoba and physician health and well-being has been a priority for him throughout his career. He founded MD care,  which provides psychiatric care for Manitoba’s physicians and their families, and was the medical director from 2005 to 2018. 

Doctor Prober was the president of the Manitoba Psychiatric Association  1977-1978 and in 2009 was recognized as a life fellow by the American Psychiatric Association. He has provided psychotherapy  supervision for hundreds of psychiatric residents over the years and continues to play an active role in the Psychotherapy Department. 

This MPA Award acknowledges Dr. Prober’s lifelong dedication to Manitobans’ wellbeing and his profession.