Dr. Kurt Skakum receives MPA 2019 Manitoba Psychiatrist of the Year Award

Dr. Kurt Skakum is the recipient of the 2019 Manitoba Psychiatric Association Manitoba Psychiatrist of the Year Award. It was presented to him at the MPA AGM on May 6th, 2019.

He completed both his MD degree and psychiatry residency at the University of Manitoba. Since 2001 he has been the Medical Director of the Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry Service at Health Sciences Centre.

He has promoted psychiatric education within the International Medical Graduate Residency Program and the Masters of Physician Assistant Studies Program. He was the Department of Psychiatry Residency Program Director for 81⁄2 years, and is currently the Residency Program Director for Geriatric Psychiatry. He is an active clinical supervisor for many medical learners, and his academic teaching has been mainly in the areas of CBT, CL psychiatry, and economic issues in Psychiatry.

Kurt was the Psychiatry representative on the Health Sciences Centre Medical Staff Executive, President of the HSC Medical Staff, President of the WRHA Medical Staff Council and sat on the WRHA Board of Directors for four years.

He is currently co-chair of the Manitoba Psychiatry Credentials/Privileges Committee, and holds an Administrative position within the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences Postgraduate Medical Education office as Program Director of Allocations and Accreditation.

His work with the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada includes being a member of the Regional Advisory Committee (for Manitoba & Saskatchewan), a member (2004) and Chair (2006) of the Written Test Committee for Psychiatry and being on the Examination Board for Psychiatry since 2007. Dr. Skakum was the Economics Rep for the MPA for nine years as well as the MPA President from 2008-10.

This MPA Award acknowledges his stalwart dedication to Manitobans’ wellbeing and his profession.